Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Counter Steering

Counter Steering

Hi Ya'll

So Im just about in my second week of riding. After work today I decided to take a ride around the lake . I wasn't going crazy, but I leaned and ended up dragging my kick stand on the ground, pushing me back up and straight. [was a little shookin' up] Anyway, coming back around I started playing with the counter steering technique, which I only half learned in the MSF course. It seemed that the the lean and turn had much more power and "tightness". My question is:

Do I keep my body above the bike, keeping the center of gravity straight down.
    Or
    As close to the Bike as possible, keeping my body aligned with the lean.

Of course being a n00b I sure there is some other answer. Im trying not to kill myself, maybe I need to slow down?

Mikey

I just lean with the bike with the exception of tight radius turns, such as in a parking lot. Then I will counterweight the footpeg to carry out the full lock turn.

Tom
    2006 Honda VTX1300S

Flirting With The Redline 10,000 Posts! mudarra's Avatar
    Since you are dragging hard parts, move your upper body towards the inside rearview mirror in the direction of the turn. Just a slight upper body lean into the turn will help the bike turn and reduce your lean angle for a given speed/radius.

Being new to riding, you may be subconsiously leaning away from the turn. This is a bad habit that all new riders do at first. It causes the bike to use more lean angle, and may also explain why you are dragging hard parts.

Also make sure you are keeping your head up and looking through the turn. Looking down or just a short distance in front of the bike, will cause you to turn early, forcing you to take a bad line through the turn, and requiring a harder lean on the last part of the curve.
    Eyes up, look ahead and keep practicing the slow-look-lean-roll technique taught in the MSF.