Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Living the Lie...

Flirting With The Redline 10,000 Posts! Shadow Shack's Avatar
    Blog Entries

Living the Lie...

Ever since I started riding --- and more to the point, riding to work --- I never had a suitable place to stow my riding gear. Typically I had a <1 cubic foot locker at best, enough to stuff a jacket and/or half shell helmet. When I got a FF helmet I was able to stow it in an office or other semi-protected area where it wouldn't likely walk away on its own accord, but the locker situation remained: not much for any other gear beyond a jacket.

Long story made short: I rode to work with polyester pants as there was no place to stow riding pants.

This went on since 1997 until now. My current job is an outdoor position that mandates cargo shorts as part of the uniform, along with the usual not-locker for my gear (re: just a jacket) and an office to stow my FF helmet (with gloves stashed inside the helmet). Suffice it to say I still ride to work, albeit now in shorts. I was pretty nervous at first, and after a few days I realized I had been living a lie: those polyester pants I'd been riding to work in for the past two+ decades They offer the same degree of not-protection the short do.

The upside is I'm finally sporting a decent tan.
    Sent from your mom's phone
    "If I wanted a windshield and tunes, I'd drive my car."
    Ride Safe, Chop Safer
    "Unofficial Beginner Bike Chop Shop"
    "Motorcycles are not unsafe. However, they are extremely unforgiving of inattention, incompetence, ignorance, and stupidity."
    Support your FLIBS (Friendly Local Independent Bike Shop)
    http://www.beginnerbikers.org/forum/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=11&dateline=117347893  4
    3500cc worth of Honda: http://shadow-shack.20m.com

Flirting With The Redline 2000 Posts! Sorg67's Avatar