Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Total noob here... did I do good?

Question Total noob here... did I do good?

First off, hi everybody! I'm a brand-new biker, starting from square one here. No dirt bike experience, no manual vehicle experience. Just plenty of time spent on bicycles. Due to some events in my life beyond my control, I needed to get affordable transportation and I decided to fulfill my long time desire to learn to ride.

So, that brings me here. I creeped around my local Craigslist for a cheap, older model motorcycle. After a while looking I bit the bullet and made my first bike purchase- a 1984 Honda Ascot VT500FT with ~26K miles. It seems to run strong as far as I can tell. It looks pretty nice too, aside from some badly done paint on the front plate and top of the gas tank and tail (from a long-gone owner who wanted to "increase visibility"). It has also had a toggle switch installed on top of the instrument cluster to operate the radiator fan, apparently when the thermostat went bad. Lastly, the needles on both the speedometer and tachometer seem to have snapped? No pointy end anymore.

I know, it's got some issues. But it fit my available budget at decently under a grand. I'm not averse to potentially replacing the instruments, as long as it's not too intensive a fix. I'm handy with tools but no mechanic. I've also read that this bike will fit parts from certain years of Honda Shadow 500C. Is that correct? Would I potentially be able to find instruments from one of those, or is my best bet aftermarket?

Most of all, tell me. Was this a decent choice for a cheap bike to learn on?

IMAG0319.jpgIMAG0318.jpg

Flirting With The Redline 2000 Posts! Sorg67's Avatar