Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Further lowering a factory lowered G650 GS

Question Further lowering a factory lowered G650 GS

Hello!

I have a BMW G650 GS, factory lowered, that needs to be even lower. I am barely 5' tall and weigh 100lb (weight possibly relevant for concerns regarding potential suspension modifications). I can only get one foot down on the bike, and can't really tiptoe it. Even in boots with insoles to give me extra height, with one foot planted, the other doesn't even reach (maybe the toe barely scrapes the ground). As a total newbie to street riding and heavier bikes, I really need to at least have both balls of my feet on the ground to feel comfortable enough to take the bike on my daily commute. (Hey, my dirtbike only weighs about 170 lb.) I have several hills with stop signs at the top on my commute, so I would really like to be able to come as close to flat-footing as possible.

Given all of this and the current height/seat positioning of the bike, I'd love it to be a good two inches lower for me to get enough of both feet down and planted. I've done research on aftermarket or shaved stock seats and installing lowering links, and have concerns about lowering links greater than 1"... but ultimately it seems, at least from what I've read, that lowering links are likely the closest I'll get to cutting off 2" when I already have the low BMW seat and the bike is factory-lowered. I know skill will come with experience, but I'm used to having no problems on my dirtbike and I have zero experience on the street, so my confidence there is not built yet.