Thread: Looking at a Vulcan 800 Classic, any advice?

Question Looking at a Vulcan 800 Classic, any advice?

Hey all,
    I'm looking to upgrade from my Suzuki Savage ls650 to a Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic. I love my Savage, but I'm 6' 2" and weigh 2... darn much. Somebody told me last year I looked like Grape Ape riding my bike. That kinda hurt, although kinda funny too. I was thinking I looked more like a shriner. So, anyway I'm looking for something a little bigger. I found a great deal on a '05 Vulcan and the bike seems to fit very well. Those of you who remember me know that I just started riding last year, so I'm wondering. Is this upgrade too soon? Is the Kawasaki a dependable ride? Any advice would be appreciated.

Swamilon

dalan
    Vulcan 800 Classic is a terrific bike. My wife's said that if she ever moves up from her Vulcan 500, that'll be it.

how many miles do you have on your Savage? You totally comfortable handling it? I don't think a Vulcan 800 is at all an unreasonable step-up from a Savage. Much more power (Vulcan 800 is a pretty darn quick bike), but not an unmanageable amount of power. If you're a big guy, I can't imagine you'd have any trouble handling the size/weight of the Vulcan. That bike feels a heck of lot lighter than my Volusia (my first bike).

The Vulcan 800 Classic gets excellent reviews, and is often rated right behind the Volusia on comparison tests. You can find some comparison reviews at www.motorcyclecruiser.com. There are some rabid Vulcan 800 fans around here too.

Personally, I went with the Volusia because of shaft vs. chain. The '05 Volusia (C50) is fuel injected too. I'm not dogging the Kawasaki, just saying check out the Suzukis before making a final decision.

Best Wishes,
    Bob

MtnMan
    I have the Vulcan 1600 classic and I love it, but it is a different bike than the 800 so I really cant give advice. Here is a link tho to a vulcan site with tons of info on many Vulcan models.