Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Oil change interval for Honda Rebel 250?

Question Oil change interval for Honda Rebel 250?

I tried the search function and scrolled through several pages without success.

I am a newbie rider with my first bike, a 2001 Honda Rebel 250 that has 19k miles on it. I've ordered an owner's manual and will be ordering a Clymer's manual. But I would like to know what most folks consider a good interval for oil changes. The oil was changed by the previous owner last fall and the bike was not ridden even 100 miles since. The oil is clean enough it is hard to see on the dip-stick.

Thanks,
    "Like a rich armour worn in heat of day that scalds with safety..." ATGATT.

"If you can park it and not turn around to admire it every time you walk away, you bought the wrong bike."

Senior Moderator We've stopped counting... subvetSSN606's Avatar
    Without checking the manual... I'd go with every 3K miles or every year whichever comes first.

Tom
    In the end, regrets rarely come from things done, but from things not even tried.

Just checked the manual... it says every 4K miles.

Tom
    In the end, regrets rarely come from things done, but from things not even tried.

Thanks for looking that up.

BTW; Does this bike have an oil filter?
    Last edited by SMLE; 03-28-2010 at 11:34 AM.

"If you can park it and not turn around to admire it every time you walk away, you bought the wrong bike."

I believe it just has an oil screen that the manual recommends cleaning every other oil change.

Tom

What the manual on a Rebel says and what might be ideal are two different things; when I had mine I had several people recommend I change the oil every 1000-1500 miles, simply because it does not have an oil filter. Without that filter, you have to figure you're eventually bathing the clutch in dirty oil; an oil change is a cheap way to avoid the shifting problems that can come with it. YMMV

Flirting With The Redline 1000 Posts!