Thread: 1986 Suzuki Intruder?

1986 Suzuki Intruder?

Hey all, first post here! I am just beginning to ride, I just completed the MSF basic riding course. I feel very confident riding, and now it's time to find me a bike. I came across a 1986 Suzuki Intruder 700, and the guy is asking $1600 for it. I checked it out on kelly blue book and it says retail value is ~1550.

The bike appears to be in good shape, but I have not checked it out in person yet. He says that the bike runs great.

Does anyone have any suggestions on what I should do? How much should I offer? Is $1600 too much for this bike?

Thanks all!
    -Josh

Flirting With The Redline 1000 Posts! monty's Avatar
    I can,t say much about the suzuki but first check out n.a.d.a. or go to www.nada.com to see the value. but if you really want the bike I show him $900 in clean crisp 100 bills maybe 1100 remember as a buyer right now the power belongs to you and don,t be afraid to walk away pretty soon there will lots of bikes for rock bottom prices

Flirting With The Redline NursePadawan's Avatar
    I'm with Monty on this one. The bike would have to be pristine with low miles for that kind of price. Is it really the bike you want or do you want it because it's available right now?
    '82 Yamaha XJ750 Maxim

Keep in mind: a 1986 bike is now old enough to vote.
    Could be a lot of parts have changed in that time, making them difficult to find.
    I claim no expertise on 'Zuki mechanicals; maybe it's not an issue at all. Although it was sometimes bothersome with me on a very popular '85 Honda, and has dogged others here with various models of older vintage.
    If it's in great shape (how old the tires? That could be $400 bucks right there if they need replacing) and seems to run well, might be a good first buy for around the $1K range.
    A suggested previously, have the money in hand. Sound confident (but not arrogant) in offering less than he wants. "This is what I'll do right here, right now."