Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Women rider and a heavy bike

Women rider and a heavy bike

Hi,

I have been riding for a few years, started on a 250, moved up to a 600 and now own a 750. I ride okay, I have developed my skills in cornering and comfortable in my riding ability overall. But I am having problems with the weight of my motorcycle. It is approx 200kg wet, It has a low seat height and I can flat foot on the ground, but I still having problems backing up the bike if there is a slight hill. I am a small women 50kg. I love my motorcycle, I don't want to sell it, it is perfect in size and power, but I am finding it hard to push it around at a standstill. The reality is, it is too heavy for me. How do other riders manage heavy bikes. Some of the big cruisers are very heavy. Any tips is appreciated.

Shauna.

Flirting With The Redline 10,000 Posts! mudarra's Avatar
    Paging Gerry (Checnh53)...... Paging Gerry.....Please report to this post......

Meet Gerry, another little woman riding a big bike.

Never....and I mean NEVER, park a motorcycle pointed downhill. Always park uphill. This will eliminate having to walk backwards up hill.
    I can't flat foot my bike, so I have to be extra vigilant where I park it, so that I can get it out easily.
    As for moving the bike, it will get easier as your balance and riding skills improve. I used to hate having to push the bike around in the garage, now its second nature.
    Never be embarrassed to ask for help to move your bike. Even a big guy (yet short) like myself has had to get help moving in and out of tough parking spaces.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Larry

Current Bike(s) - 2012 Kawasaki Ninja 650 'Guacamole', 04 Yamaha XT225
    Previous Bikes - 06 Yamaha FJR1300, 08 Kawasaki Versys, 05 Honda 919, 04 Kawasaki ZZR600, 04 Yamaha V-Star 650

Hi Shauna...

I'm not being a smart @$$ but... don't push it.