PDA

View Full Version : Newbie, Bikes, and Freeways

missyrat
06-16-2006, 04:50 AM
Hello Everyone,

I am a newbie in California who is going to take the MSF course next week.
I have been reading all I can on this great site as well as others, and of course I've been looking at gear and bikes.

Bikes I've been interested in (not in any order):
Honda Shadow VLX and 750
Yamaha Virago 535 adn 750
Yamaha V-Star
Kawasaki Vulcan 500LTD (not a fan of the 750 styling)

Obviously I'm highly inclined toward cruisers and while I'm quite sure I know nothing about bikes, I do know that I don't want an 1000cc or something like that, while I'm a very cautious person I'm also young (20), I'd like to live a long life and be able to learn properly.

So I have a few questions:
First - Any recommendations of other bikes I should look at? Ones with similar styling to the ones I've listed that are good for beginners?
Second - Any reason any of these bikes are bad for beginners? Any recommendations out of the group based the next question?
Three - This is my big question that is my big fear right now - I am home for the summer in Northern California but go to college in Portland Oregon - if I practice riding everyday is there any way I'll be ready for the freeway by the end of August? Because I will of course want to take my bike with me.
I will be able to stop overnight once or even twice if necessary so it wouldn't be trying to make it in one shot (its about 600-650 miles but I can't take as long as I need getting there) - and I have a choice between a slower coastal highway and an Interstate - so I don't have to ride with 4 lanes of cars the whole way either.
If this is possible and plausable to do please let recommend which bikes above (or any others) would be best for making this trip oncec or twice a year, I also hope to use the bike to take many day trips out of Portland on both the freeway and country roads.

Thank You all in advance for your responses and such a great forum!