PDA

View Full Version : First bike...SV650S or Ninja 500R?

newbikerchic
08-26-2005, 11:12 AM
I am a newbie to this sport and have just completed the MSF course over the weekend. I am now looking for my first bike.....yeah!

Basically, I am trying to decide between SV650S and the Ninja 500. It is pretty much slim pick-ins on used bikes in my area, so I've decided to buy new. (I know...it's probably a bad decision) I feel that if I am going to finance a bike, then I might as well finance a new one....right?

My background is this: Riding experience- MSF course! Yep, that's it. I seemed to pick up the sport fairly quickly and toted around on a Honda Nighthawk for the weekend. (No drops or crashes)

Now I have my endorsement and I am ready to buy a bike!. I want a bike that I can keep for awhile and not get bored with it in a year, but on the other hand, I don't want something I can't handle.

Both the SV650 and 500R feel good to me when I sit on them and my feet touch flat footed on the ground. SV has better reviews and will deliver a more comfortable ride (according to friends and reviews) 500R has less power and is cheaper....

Help? :???:

GRYDE001
08-26-2005, 12:11 PM
Welcome to the board!

I ride cruisers myself, but have always wanted a sv6250. If you're serious about riding, you might outgrow the 500 kinda fast, but I have no experience riding either. Probably the best thing to do is go and sit on both and see how they feel.
I'm sure others will chime in with their thoughts, but from what I hear, both bikes are good choices, it just comes down to which one you can handle being a new rider.

Wookie
08-26-2005, 12:38 PM
Both are great bikes, but the Ninja 500 is much more of a beginner friendly bike than the SV650, which is considered boarderline by most. In your situation it might be the better choice and offers plenty of performance for it's size.