PDA

View Full Version : "Respecting the Power"

dalan
05-09-2005, 12:24 PM
:uhh:

Oh man. I'm in the midst of a thread over on a ZZR1200 forum, where there are a couple folks suggesting that it might be OK for a total newbie to start out on one of these things, so long as he rides with a "responsible head" and, you guessed it, "respects the power". There's one guy there who actually did this: bought a ZZR1200 this December and has since put 3500 miles on it. Says he's not afraid of the bike anymore and wouldn't mind having more power, and that he would have regretted starting on a smaller bike. In his defense, he admits to being an AGATT rider and specifically says that he doesn't recommend it for most starting riders, but the implication still scares the bejeezus out of me.

So, how do you counter this without sounding like a yellow-bellied fear monger?

MarcS
05-09-2005, 12:39 PM
Heheheheheheh. Not a battle worth fighting, IMO ;) just point newbies to the sub-800cc cruiser or standard of their choice.

The main point I would emphasize about starting on a smaller bike is that you gain more skill more quickly than with a larger bike. One of the prominent instructors at a racing school said something along the lines that his students biggest hangup in learning was that they were on the wrong bike. Plenty of stories of people on CBRs getting passed by people on EX250s or dirt bikes . . .