PDA

View Full Version : How to wash/clean a bike?

fat bastard
04-09-2005, 10:24 PM
Being new to bikes I'm wondering what's the best way to clean my bike. There are some streaks on the metal and I want to get everything looking good without screwing anything up. I'm sure it's not as easy as just throwing some soap on it and spraying it down with a hose like you can a car. Are there special wipes or anything like that and when cleaning, what areas should I concentrate on most?
Thanks.

karpsymoto
04-09-2005, 10:45 PM
I'm not an expert, but here are a few ideas that I've heard and will pass on. I've been told to wash the bike when the bike has cooled down; especially the pipes. Also, I just heard a trick of using two spray bottles (one with water and one with cleaner)...first misting the bike to wet it down and then using the second bottle with cleaner. Sponge it down and then spray again with the water. I've heard that Honda makes a great polishing agent, but haven't used it myself. Hope this is some help. I'm sure others will have more to add.

Logan
04-10-2005, 01:48 AM
...I'm sure it's not as easy as just throwing some soap on it and spraying it down with a hose like you can a car. Are there special wipes or anything like that and when cleaning, what areas should I concentrate on most?
Thanks.

Actually that's pretty much it.

I use a standard car wash solution, a bucket & a hose.

S100 is a good cycle cleaner you can use.

You just need to be careful about avoiding direct water spray into chains, bearings, air box, or any electrical components.

Cindy
04-10-2005, 08:17 AM